WRITTEN QUESTION TO THE MINISTER FOR EXTERNAL RELATIONS BY THE DEPUTY OF GROUVILLE ANSWER TO BE TABLED ON TUESDAY 15TH NOVEMBER 2016

Question

Who are the members of the 'Brexit Working Group'; who decided its membership and make-up and, if political membership is exclusive to the Council of Ministers and its officers, will the Minister explain why; and will the Minister also explain whether other Members of the Assembly who have an interest in this matter will be given the opportunity to serve on the Working Group, and if not, why not?

Answer

The Brexit Working Group is a working-level group that comprises an official from each Department in government with an interest in Brexit. Each Department decided which official should attend. It has no political membership. FERAGⁱ has delegated responsibility for oversight of the Brexit Working Group to the Chief Minister, Minister for External Relations and the Assistant Chief Minister for Financial Services, Digital, Innovation and Competition.

A political briefing on Brexit for all States Members was held on 1st November 2016 when it was agreed that the continued involvement of States Assembly Members on a regular basis was important. I stand ready to take into account the Deputy's suggestions as to the best format for the next meeting, and for future engagement.

¹ FERAG is the acronym for the Financial Services and External Relations Advisory Group, chaired by the Chief Minister, with the following political membership: Minister for External Relations; Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sports and Culture; Assistant Chief Minister, Financial Services, Digital & Innovation and Competition; Assistant Chief Minister, Social Inclusion and Population; Deputy Chief Minister; Minister for Treasury and Resources.